Twists On Your Average Waffle

I recently picked up a waffle iron.  Waffles were one of the the things in college that there used to be lines for because they were just that good.  My waffle iron, of course, is not as deluxe as the college edition but it works just as well.  When I brought it home, my mom, sister and I “oohed” and “ahhed” at it.  Then we promptly went to find a waffle recipe to use for it.  Instead we chose to christen the waffle iron with making doughnuts in it.  Yep, you read that correctly 🙂  We made cinnamon “dough-nots”, an amazing waffle look alike with the fluffy cake-like filling of a doughnut.

Since this worked out so well, we thought about what we could do with a box of GF Betty Crocker Yellow Cake.  We decided to make some of the batter into chocolate cake batter and swirl it back in.  We then baked and cut the waffles and made them into ice cream sandwiches 🙂

Ah, I think I am enjoying having a waffle iron.  Please feel free to share what you like to make in your waffle iron 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonas
    May 24, 2013 @ 02:30:41

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    help from an established blog. Is it tough to
    set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

