A New Spin on Pizza

It is great to be able to get gluten free pizza when you are out on the town but there is something special about making pizza at home.

After a morning of coaching a local running group, I decided a pan of pizza would be a delightful reward.

I searched my cupboard for my ingredients and found that I lacked yeast. At first I thought what am I going to do but then I thought this is a time to be creative. I brought out my computer, googled some sites regarding gluten free, yeast free crusts and I found one that I creatively modified. The result of my effort lead to a crust made with chickpeas.

As you may know, not all gluten free grain products have a great amount of fiber but a good way to change this is to incorporate beans. To make this pizza, I used some chickpeas.

Here is my recipe:

Two cups all-purpose gluten free flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup olive oil
2/3 cup water
1 cup chickpeas

1)Preheat oven to 350F

2) Mix the flour with the baking powder.

3) Place the chickpeas and water in a blender and blend until the chick peas are in the consistency of a purée.

4) Combine the chickpea purée with the olive oil and then combine it with your dry ingredients.

Your dough should be spreadable if it is not, add a bit of water until it is. Place your dough on a lightly oiled pan and place it in your oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown. After you have browned your crust, free free to add toppings and bake for another 20 minutes. Enjoy!

20130307-150639.jpg

Leave a Reply

